tahariel: (Harry Potter - Travelling)
[personal profile] tahariel
Hi guys! I'm in San Diego! I know, I know, what am I doing here on the internet? OH WELL. Today I went for a walk and ended up being out for seven hours shopping and wandering. I also got free movie tickets for buying DVDs, so I went to see The Last Airbender.

Firstly, they cast the WHITEST KIDS EVER as Inuits, which looked dumb enough, but then cast EVERYONE ELSE IN THE VILLAGE as actual non-white people! Secondly, they needed a visit from the show-don't-tell fairy and the gnome of pacing, seriously. They tried to fit in so many disparate pieces of the original show that it was like the world's ugliest patchwork. Thirdly, none of the characters got enough screentime - or acted well enough - to actually make me give a crap, other than Zuko, who, played by Dev Patel, was by far the most likeable of the lot. Katara and Sokka were barely even there, let alone doing anything.

SO glad I didn't pay actual money for this movie. If you really want to see it - and I really did - find a way not to pay for it. I'm not kidding. I paid money to see GI Joe and was happy about it. Not this movie.




I write like
Margaret Atwood

I Write Like by Mémoires, Mac journal software. Analyze your writing!




A link: This is a warning from [livejournal.com profile] emigree to women using lj about a total creep who is targeting young women. You do need to read this.

[livejournal.com profile] krazykipper's post reminded me White Collar started again today and I totally forgot and I could have watched it on TV. Now I'm trying to download it but the internet here is sooooo slooooow. Not sure I'm gonna make it. DAMN.

I updated my story thing so it's got all the material up to where I am now, if anyone's interested?

Tomorrow I'm going to go to Balboa park and wander the museums :) And maybe find an internet cafe to see if I can get that White Collar episode.

Date: 2010-07-14 06:09 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] ionaonie.livejournal.com
If I had known you were going to forget, I would have texted you and reminded you.

I totally agree about Airbender. They completely screwed it up.

I did kind of like Iroh.

But Aang and Katara were particularly awful.

And how the fuck were they pronouncing Aang? It was all wrong. I nearly yelled every time someone said his name.

Date: 2010-07-14 08:44 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] loki-dip.livejournal.com
You forgot? You were in the US and forgot? FAIL! I didn't. :( Have to wait until work's over and we've taken J out for drinks (her father's up in Scotland and has had seizures for the past fortnight on and off. We're taking her out to take her mind off the fact she's not going back up until Friday). But then, finishing the [livejournal.com profile] whitecollar_bb draft and new show! (Plus, I know my S1 DVDs have been delivered to SDCC. *g*)

Will see you in a week or so. ;p

Date: 2010-07-15 04:20 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] tahariel.livejournal.com
In my defence, I flew in the day before, was awake for 24 consecutive hours, and don't exactly keep up with TV schedules in the UK let alone here.

Profile

tahariel: (Default)
tahariel

December 2011

S M T W T F S
    12 3
45678 910
111213 1415 16 17
181920 21222324
25262728293031

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 27th, 2026 09:04 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios